Footprints in the sand

I came across this poem when I was a young girl.    I thought then that when God carries me, that he will magically solve all my problems and all my cares will be gone.   Now that I have a family and daily challenges to cope, both at home and at work, I know realize how fortunate I am to have a Divine Hand to guide me, comfort me and hold me close to His Bosom.   Not that all my problems will disappear like magic, but it is comforting to know that there is someone helping me carry my burdens and cares.   Through the kindness and good deeds of loved ones, friends, and even strangers, we can feel His comforting and merciful Hand. 

One night I had a dream.

I dreamed I was walking along the beach

with the Lord.

Across the sky flashed scenes from my life..

For each scene, I noticed two sets of

footprints in the sand,

one belonging to me, and the other to the Lord..

When the last scene of my life flashed before me,

I looked back at the footprints in the sand.

I noticed that many times along the path of my life

there was only one set of footprints.

I also noticed that it happened at the very lowest

and saddest times in my life.

This really bothered me

and I questioned the Lord about it:

“Lord, you said that once I decided to follow you,

you’d walk with me all the way.

But I have noticed that during the most

troublesome times in my life

there is only one set of footprints.

I don’t understand why

when I need you most you would leave me.”

The Lord replied:

“My precious child, I love you and would

never leave you.

During your times of trial and suffering,

when you see only one set of footprints, it was then

that I carried you.”

poem by Mary Stevenson

Picture credit:   Luke Tscharke

http://www.luketscharke.com/index.php?showimage=14

About Grace

I am striving to improve my writing style and craft.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Footprints in the sand

  1. This poem just seems to be following me around! Last night I was really struggling with seeing things God’s way. I knew what I wanted God to be doing with my life, and yet their were many reasons I was aware of that He might not do it. This morning as I was talking through some of these things, a journal with these words caught my attention. Walking with God really is about trusting Him and knowing that He is there with us, not insisting that He do what we would like Him to do with us. Ooh, I’m still learning!

    • Grace says:

      I am glad you found this post meaningful. We sometimes forget that God chooses His time so we really have to learn to trust in Him. When things are good, we don’t think of Him that often. That is why sometimes, we have challenges in our life, to remind us that everything rests in Him.

  2. Oh, I could not agree more — this is one of the great realities that keeps me in awe of God even when trials loom large: that God would go after my heart so strategically that He would not let my resistance get in the way. Trails point me to Him because I learn that I truly have nothing without Him.

    • Grace says:

      Very beautiful. I too sometimes wondered why we have challenges… but then I see in hindsight that it was because I had to learn something and see people and life in a new way. I just pray that He will not give me challenges that I can’t cope.. but I always find out that I can…. with His Mercy and Love.

Leave a Reply

